Doug Conant Named 2019 ITA David A Benjamin Achievement Award Winner

TEMPE, Ariz. (July 15) - Doug Conant, alumnus of Northwestern University’s Class of 1973, and J.L. Kellogg School of Management’s Class of 1976, will receive a prestigious honor from the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) when he is presented with the 2019 ITA David A Benjamin Achievement Award September 7 at the International Tennis Hall of Fame’s (ITHF) Board of Governors Meeting at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in New York. The ceremony will be hosted by the ITHF and presented by Rolex Watch, U.S.A.

Stan Smith, President of the ITHF, will present the award along with David A Benjamin, ITA Chairman Emeritus; Timothy Russell, ITA Chief Executive Officer, Jon Vegosen, Chairman of the ITA Board of Directors, and a representative from Rolex Watch U.S.A. Conant will be presented a distinctive, personally engraved, Rolex timepiece, invited to watch a session of the 2019 US Open from the President’s Suite, courtesy of the USTA, and recognized during the ITHF’s Legends Ball.

“The Intercollegiate Tennis Association is thrilled to recognize Doug Conant as the recipient of the 2019 ITA David A Benjamin Achievement Award,” Russell said. “The ITA’s mission is to serve college tennis, advance our sport, and return the leaders of tomorrow. Doug is a shining example of a student-athlete taking the tools and experience gained on the tennis courts and in the classrooms and applying them throughout a distinguished professional career.”

Now in its 26th year, the ITA David A Benjamin Achievement Award pays tribute each year to past participants in the world of varsity tennis who have achieved excellence in their chosen careers. The spirit of the award honors both professional success and contributions to society, made either as a direct result of a career, or through humanitarian efforts. In 2015, Margie and Stan Smith endowed the ITA Achievement Award in honor of Benjamin.

“We are very proud to partner with the International Tennis Hall of Fame and Rolex Watch U.S.A. to honor Doug Conant as the 2019 ITA David A Benjamin Achievement Award laureate,” Benjamin said. “And we would also like to thank once again Margie and Stan Smith, for their generous endowment donation for this most special award.”

Conant was a four-year starter on the Northwestern University men’s tennis team where he played at No. 2 singles and No. 1 doubles and earned a political science degree before graduating from the University’s J.L. Kellogg School of Management. He then went on to become an internationally renowned c-suite business leader, New York Times bestselling author, keynote speaker, and social media influencer with over 45 years of leadership experience at world-class global companies.

On his learning that he is the 2019 ITA David A Benjamin Achievement Award, Conant said:

“The sport of tennis has been transformational to my life journey. It took a shy young man and helped him find his way in a fiercely competitive world—teaching me the values of honor, hard work, integrity, self-reliance, and perseverance in the face of adversity. Throughout it all, I have found that the more I give back to tennis, the more I continue to get from it, reaping rewards of continuous learning, growth, and personal fulfillment. I greatly admire how the USTA and the Intercollegiate Tennis Association are advancing the same bedrock values with the youth of today, helping to develop conscientious and diligent leaders of tomorrow.”

Doug Conant’s Career Highlights Four-year starter on the Northwestern University men’s tennis team Earned a B.A. degree in political science from Northwestern University in 1973 Graduated from Northwestern University’s J.L. Kellogg School of Management in 1976 Internationally renowned c-suite business leader Forty-Five years of leadership experience at world-class global companies President of Nabisco Foods CEO at Campbell Soup Company Chairman of Avon Products Founder of ConantLeadership, a mission-driven community of leaders and learners who are championing leadership in the 21st century Penned “13 Life Lessons Learned from the Game of Tennis” Currently serves as Chairman of Chief Executives for Corporate Purpose (CECP) and Chairman of the Higher Ambition Leadership Institute in Boston Former Chairman of the Kellogg Executive Leadership Institute at Northwestern University Former Member of the Board of Directors at AmerisourceBergen Co-author with Mette Norgaard of New York Times bestseller Touchpoints: “Creating Powerful Leadership Connections in the Smallest of Moments” Named a Trust Across America Top Thought Leader in Trust each year from 2014-17 Became a Top Thought Leader in Trust Lifetime Achievement Award recipient in 2018 A Top 30 Leadership Professional by Global Gurus Featured blogger at Harvard Business Review online and writes extensively about “leadership that works” on the ConantLeadership website and as a LinkedIn Influencer

PAST ITA DAVID A BENJAMIN ACHIEVEMENT AWARD LAUREATES 2018 Rick Barton - Harvard University, 1971 2017 Howard Lutnick - Haverford College, 1983 2016 Brian Hainline - Notre Dame, 1978 2015 John Bridgeland - Harvard University, 1982 2014 Lynn Tilton - Yale University, 1981 2013 Roger Crawford - Loyola Marymount University, 1982 2012 General Ann E. Dunwoody - State University of New York at Cortland, 1975 2011 Jon D. Erickson - University of Michigan, 1959 2010 Robert A Swift - Haverford College, 1968 2009 John L. Thornton - Harvard University, 1976 2008 Sheridan Snyder - University of Virginia, 1958 2007 Dr. Geoffrey Tabin - Yale University, 1978 2006 Thomas Cundy - Florida State University, 1955 2005 Steve Appleton - Boise State University, 1982 2004 Dr. George Fareed - University of California, 1966 2003 Gene Sperling - University of Minnesota, 1982 2002 Jack Blanton, Sr. - University of Texas, 1947 2001 Patricia Beckford Acheson - Queens College, 1972 2001 Judge Gerald E. Rosen - Kalamazoo College, 1973 2000 Dr. Ruth M. Haude - Indiana State (PA), 1958 2000 Dr. Michael P. Johnson - Clark University, 1979 1999 Christine Grant - Swarthmore College, 1969 1999 Governor Pedro Rossello - University of Notre Dame, 1966 1998 Lieutenant Colonel Gail Allen - Air Force Academy, 1982 1998 Dr. William Bowen - Denison University, 1955 1997 Dr. Bert Vogelstein - University of Pennsylvania, 1981 1997 Lisa Hoffstein - University of Pennsylvania, 1981 1996 Roger B. Porter - Brigham Young University, 1969 1996 Wilma A. Lewis - Swarthmore College, 1978 1995 Dr. Rebecca Birchmore Campen - University of Georgia, 1963 1995 Senator John Breaux - University of Southwestern Louisiana, 1964 1994 Judge Peggy Brenden - Luther College, 1976 1994 Athan James Shaka - Harvey Mudd College, 1980


Frasure-Footer-Ad-336x280-FINAL news search news categories news archives


Movable Type Development by PRO IT Service