Hawk-Eye to replace linespersons at PowerShares

LOS ANGELES - InsideOut Sports and Entertainment, a leading live event, talent access, and content creation group and division of Horizon Media, today announced the 2015 PowerShares Series tennis circuit will be the first ever pro tennis event series to exclusively use electronic line-calling systems in place of linespeople throughout its 12-city tour starting March 24 in Salt Lake City.

The PowerShares Series, the North American tennis tour for champion tennis players over the age of 30, will now only employ a chair umpire for matches during its four-player nightly events and will have all line-calling responsibilities decided by the Hawk-Eye Officiating System. Players will be allowed unlimited challenges during the course of a match.

Players competing on the 2015 PowerShares Series are defending points champion John McEnroe, Hall of Famers Pete Sampras, Andre Agassi, Jim Courier, Michael Chang as well as Andy Roddick, James Blake and Mark Philippoussis.

“We are excited and quite a bit curious to see top level tennis officiated in this manner and believe this might be an interesting experiment for the future of the sport,” said Jon Venison, co-president at InsideOut Sports & Entertainment. “The Hawk-Eye tennis officiating system has been one of the great innovations in tennis in the last 100 years and we are look forward to using this technology to create a new dynamic for tennis.”

McEnroe, who is as well-known for his arguments of line-calls as he is for his championship results, supports the initiative.

“I never thought this day would come when I would play tournament tennis without linesmen,” said McEnroe. “I think this is a great move for the sport and I applaud InsideOut Sports & Entertainment and the PowerShares Series for making this bold decision. I think this can be a ground-breaking game-changer for the sport.”

Each PowerShares Series tournament is a one-night event that features two one-set semifinal matches, followed by a one-set championship match. Tickets and unique VIP fan experience packages are now on sale. Tickets start at $30 and all ticket and VIP information is available at

Hawk-Eye is one of the leading vision processing companies in sports. First used as a broadcast tool to analyze decisions in Cricket, Hawk-Eye has since revolutionized sports broadcasting, officiating and coaching across a variety of sports including tennis, snooker and Gaelic Hurling. The Hawk-Eye technology was first used in professional tennis at the modern-day Miami Open in 2005 and first used at a Grand Slam tournament at the 2005 U.S. Open. The technology is now an integral part of the ATP, WTA and ITF tennis tours, featured at over 60 events in the sport, including all four Grand Slam tournaments. Players have access to three incorrect challengers per set, plus an additional one in the event of a tie-breaker. The system is able to display the outcome of any bounce within five seconds of the ball landing, with the result being displayed to the players, chair umpire, fans and television viewer simultaneously. For more information on Hawk-Eye, go to

The full 2015 PowerShares Series schedule with event match-ups are as follows:

Tuesday, March 24: Salt Lake City, Utah (Huntsman Center) “Champions Shootout” James Blake vs. Mark Philippoussis, Andre Agassi vs. Jim Courier

Wednesday, March 25: Los Angeles, Calif., (Galen Center at USC) “SoCal Honda Dealers Helpful Cup” Pete Sampras vs. Jim Courier, Andy Roddick vs. James Blake

Wednesday, April 1: Lincoln, Neb., (Pinnacle Bank Arena at Univ. of Nebraska) “Champions Cup Presented by Woods Park Tennis” Andy Roddick vs. Jim Courier, James Blake vs. John McEnroe

Thursday, April 2: Chicago, Ill. (Sears Centre) “PowerShares QQQ Challenge” John McEnroe vs. Jim Courier, Andy Roddick vs. James Blake

Thursday, April 16: Austin, Texas (Cedar Park Center) “Champions Shootout” John McEnroe vs. Jim Courier, Andy Roddick vs. James Blake

Friday, April 17: Little Rock, Ark. (Jack Stephens Center at the UALR) “Champions Cup” Andy Roddick vs. Jim Courier, John McEnroe vs. Mark Philippoussis

Saturday, April 18: Dallas, Texas (Moody Coliseum at SMU) “Champions Showdown” John McEnroe vs. Jim Courier, Andy Roddick vs. Mark Philippoussis

Wednesday, April 22: Boston, Mass. (Agganis Arena at Boston University) “Champions Cup” John McEnroe vs. Jim Courier, Andy Roddick vs. James Blake

Thursday, April 23: Richmond, Va., (Siegel Center at VCU) “Champions Challenge” Jim Courier vs. Andy Roddick, John McEnroe vs. James Blake

Wednesday, April 29: Minneapolis, Minn. (Target Center) “Champions Shootout” John McEnroe vs. James Blake, Andy Roddick vs. Michael Chang

Thursday, April 30: Cincinnati, Ohio (Cintas Center at Xavier) “Champions Showdown” Andy Roddick vs. James Blake, John McEnroe vs. Michael Chang

Saturday, May 2: Vancouver, Canada (Doug Mitchell Thunderbird Sports Centre at UBC) “Champions Showdown” Michael Chang vs. Mark Philippoussis, Pete Sampras vs. John McEnroe

In 2014, McEnroe won the points title for the first time in the nine-year history of Champions Series tennis by winning events in Kansas City, Indianapolis, Nashville and Charlotte. McEnroe was followed in the points standings by Blake in second place and Roddick in third place.


Frasure-Footer-Ad-336x280-FINAL news search news categories news archives


Movable Type Development by PRO IT Service