Award winners and All-Star Team to be Honored

SKILLMAN, N.J. — The Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) announced the 10 National winners of the 2010 Arthur Ashe, Jr. Leadership and Sportsmanship Award and the 27th edition of the ITA All-Star Team, which features the nation’s top-ranked players and National Champions from the 2009-10 season.

These remarkable student-athletes will be treated by the ITA and United States Tennis Association (USTA) to a weekend in New York, highlighted by activities during Arthur Ashe Kids’ Day at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center on Saturday, August 28th. The group will be honored at the ITA awards luncheon, hosted by the USTA in the President’s Dining Room Suite. Lucy Garvin, Chairman of the Board and President of the USTA, David A Benjamin, ITA Executive Director, David Dinkins, former Mayor of New York City and a member of the USTA Board of Directors, are among those on hand to present the awards.

The ITA/Arthur Ashe Leadership and Sportsmanship Award recognizes outstanding individuals in all divisions at the regional and national level. This award which dates back to 1982, goes to NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA and JuCo men’s and women’s players who have exhibited outstanding sportsmanship and leadership as well as scholastic, extracurricular and tennis achievements. The 2010 recipients include:


Division I: Jason Jung, Michigan Division I: Catherine Newman, Vanderbilt Division II: Lorenzo Cava, Bentley Division II: Natalia Ramos, FIT Division III: Matt de Vlieger, Calvin Division III: Julia Browne, Tufts NAIA: Oliver Sindayigay, Lewis-Clark St. NAIA: Sheryl Bon, Azusa Pacific JuCo: Andres Cepede, Meridian CC JuCo: Jamie Blackim, Cowley CC

This 27th edition of the ITA Collegiate All-Star Team includes the nation’s top-ranked men’s and women’s tennis players from the season-ending Campbell/ITA College Tennis Rankings at the NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA and NJCAA levels, as well as champions from the 2009 ITA National Intercollegiate Indoor Championships and 2010 NCAA Championships. Highlighting this year’s team are the Campbell/ITA National Players of the Year: Irina Falconi of Georgia Tech and Robert Farah of USC.


Division I Singles Division I Singles Robert Farah, Southern California No. 1 Campbell/ITA Ranking Irina Falconi, Georgia Tech No. 1 Campbell/ITA Ranking Steve Johnson, Southern California ITA National Indoor Champion Jana Juricova, California ITA National Indoor Champion Bradley Klahn, Stanford NCAA Champion Chelsey Gullickson, Georgia NCAA Champion Division I Doubles Teams Division I Doubles Teams Reid Carleton/Henrique Cunha, Duke No. 1 Campbell/ITA Ranking Natalie Pluskota/Caitlin Whoriskey, Tennessee No. 1 Campbell/ITA Ranking Bradley Klahn/Ryan Thacher, Stanford ITA National Indoor Champions Hilary Barte/Lindsay Burdette, Stanford ITA National Indoor Champions NCAA Champions Drew Courtney/Michael Shabaz, Virginia NCAA Champions Kristy Frilling/Kali Krisik, Notre Dame No. 2 Campbell/ITA Rankings Division II Division II Mikk Irdoja, Armstrong Atlantic No. 1 Campbell/ITA Ranking Yuan Jia, BYU-Hawaii No. 1 Campbell/ITA Ranking Division III Division III John Watts, Washington-St. Louis No. 1 Campbell/ITA Ranking Julia Browne, Tufts No. 1 Campbell/ITA Ranking NAIA NAIA Alberto Gonzalez, Auburn-Montgomery No. 1 Campbell/ITA Ranking Gabriela Bergmanova, Vanguard No. 1 Campbell/ITA Ranking NJCAA NJCAA Damian Hume, Collin CC No. 1 Campbell/ITA Ranking Olivia Howlett, Hillsborough CC No. 1 Campbell/ITA Ranking The USTA announced that chart-topping pop superstars Jonas Brothers and TV and recording sensation Demi Lovato will hold court with tennis world # 1 Rafael Nadal, Andy Roddick, Kim Clijsters and Novak Djokovic at the 15th Annual Arthur Ashe Kids’ Day presented by Hess Saturday, August 28 at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center in Flushing, N.Y., from 9:30 a.m. - 4 p.m.

“We have seen some of the biggest names in tennis and entertainment on the court during Arthur Ashe Kids’ Day presented by Hess,” said Harlan Stone, Chief Marketing Officer, USTA. “Our 15th year will be no different, and this day of excitement and fun for kids and families, will again honor a great humanitarian and icon of our sport.”

Over the years, Arthur Ashe Kids’ Day has featured many of music’s biggest acts including Justin Bieber, Rihanna, Jessica Simpson, Britney Spears, Jordin Sparks, Backstreet Boys, Ne-Yo, Sean Kingston, Jesse McCartney, Bow Wow and Hanson.


Frasure-Footer-Ad-336x280-FINAL news search news categories news archives


Movable Type Development by PRO IT Service