ITA Announces Div. I National Coaches of the Year

SKILLMAN, N.J. — The Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) announced the Wilson/ITA National Coaches of the Year for NCAA Division I tennis. Peter Smith of Southern California was awarded the honor as the top men’s head coach while North Carolina’s Brian Kalbas was the recipient for the women.

Wilson, the Official Tennis Racquet Company, Tennis Ball and Stringing Accessory Company of the ITA, has been the ITA’s title sponsor of the ITA Coach of the Year since the awards’ inception in 1973.

In addition, Wilson serves as the title sponsor for the ITA National Promoter of the Year awards, which presents a wonderful opportunity for students to be recognized for their promotional efforts of their varsity tennis programs by receiving summer intern positions with Wilson Sporting Goods.

“We are proud of this year’s award recipients and their excellence in tennis. Wilson is appreciative of all they do for the athletes they work with every day and their contributions to our industry and college tennis,” says Michael Wallace, Director of US Promotions for Wilson Sporting Goods Co.

Peter Smith, the Pac-10 Coach of the Year, guided the defending NCAA Champions to a 25-3 overall record as the Trojans pin up their first back-to-back NCAA titles since 1993-94. The 2010 crown marks USC’s 18th all-time NCAA men’s tennis title, the most in NCAA history. Smith is the only men’s tennis coach ever to lead four different men’s programs to national top-25 rankings and is one of only two coaches to guide three different schools to the NCAA quarterfinals and top-5 national rankings (USC, Pepperdine and Fresno State).

Brian Kalbas led UNC to one of the most successful seasons in program history. The Tar Heels spent five weeks ranked No. 1 in the Campbell/ITA College Tennis Rankings, made the finals of the ITA Women’s Team Indoor Championship andcompleted the first 11-0 regular season in ACC history. For Kalbas, the award is his sixth career Wilson/ITA Regional Coach of the Year honor and his second since coming to Chapel Hill. The seventh year head coach was also selected as the ITA National Coach of the Year in 1998 while at William & Mary.

Wilson/ITA National Division I Coaches of the Year:

Year Men Women
2010 Peter Smith, Southern California Brian Kalbas, North Carolina
2009 Ty Tucker, Ohio State Jeff Wallace, Georgia
2008 Brian Boland, Virginia Claire Pollard, Northwestern
2007 Manuel Diaz, Georgia Bryan Shelton, Georgia Tech
2006 Adam Steinberg, Pepperdine Jay Louderback, Notre Dame
2005 Matt Knoll, Baylor Mark Guilbeau, Kentucky
2004 Ron Smarr, Rice Patty McCain, Washington
2003 Craig Tiley, Illinois Lele Forood, Stanford
2002 Dick Leach, Southern California Brian Fleishman, Wake Forest
2001 Manuel Diaz, Georgia Mike/Sonia Patrick, Tennessee
2000 Dick Gould, Stanford Jeff Wallace, Georgia
1999 Craig Tiley, Illinois Frank Brennan, Stanford
1998 Dick Gould, Stanford Brian Kalbas, William & Mary
1997 Greg Patton, Boise State Sheila McInerney, Arizona State
1996 Billy Martin, UCLA Andy Brandi, Florida
1995 Manuel Diaz, Georgia Ann Valentine, Brigham Young
1994 Dick Gould, Stanford Jeff Wallace, Georgia
1993 Glenn Bassett, UCLA Jeff Moore, Texas
1992 Bobby Bayliss, Notre Dame Lin Loring, Indiana
1991 Dick Leach, Southern California Jeff Wallace, Georgia
1990 Mike DePalmer, Tennessee Jan Brogan, California
1989 Kent DeMars, South Carolina Andy Brandi, Florida
1988 Jerry Simmons, LSU Frank Brennan, Stanford
1987 Greg Patton, UC-Irvine Frank Brennan, Stanford
1986 Jerry Noyce, Minnesota Ian Duvenhage, Miami
1985 Dave Snyder, Texas Carol Plunkett, San Diego State
1984 Dick Leach, Southern California Anne Pittman, Arizona State
1983 Dennis Ralston, SMU
1982 Tut Bartzen, TCU
1981 Chuck Kriese, Clemson
1980 Dan Magill, Georgia
1979 Bill Wright, California
1978 George Toley, Southern California
1977 Bob McKinley, Trinity
1976 Glenn Bassett, UCLA
1975 Bill Potter, Florida
1974 Glenn Bassett, UCLA
1973 Dick Gould, Stanford

As the governing body of collegiate tennis, the ITA promotes both the athletic and academic achievements of the collegiate tennis community. The ITA, which is compromised of nearly 1,700 men’s and women’s varsity coaches representing over 1,200 institutions, administers numerous regional and national championships and the Campbell/ITA College Tennis Rankings for over 15,000 college varsity student-athletes at the NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA and Junior College levels. The ITA also has a comprehensive awards program for players and coaches to honor excellence in academics, leadership and sportsmanship. The official ITA web site is

Wilson Racquet Sports is a division of Chicago-based Wilson Sporting Goods, one of the world’s leading manufacturers of sports equipment and owned by Amer Sports. Wilson designs, manufactures and distributes sporting goods throughout the world and focuses on making technologically advanced products which help players of all levels perform better. Wilson’s core sport categories include: Football, Basketball, Baseball, Volleyball, Soccer, Youth Sports, Uniforms/Apparel, Golf, Footwear and Racquet Sports (Tennis, Racquetball, Squash, Badminton and Platform Tennis). For more information, visit


Frasure-Footer-Ad-336x280-FINAL news search news categories news archives


Movable Type Development by PRO IT Service