Sanam Singh Receives Sportsmanship Award

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. — Sanam Singh of the University of Virginia received the ITA Sportsmanship Award Sunday at the ITA National Men’s Team Indoor Championship, hosted by the University of Virginia at Boar’s Head Sports Club. Singh, a junior from Chandigarh, India was chosen for this annual award by the 16 participating coaches for displaying outstanding sportsmanship and exemplifying the spirit of college tennis during the course of the Team Indoor Championship as well as throughout his career. Singh is currently ranked No. 12 in singles and No. 5 in doubles with partner Houston Barrick in the Campbell/ITA College Tennis Rankings. He recently captured the UVA Fall Invitational and UVA Plus-One Invitational Singles titles and made it to the Round of 16 at the ITA/D’Novo Men’s All-American Championships.

A member of the two-time defending ITA National Men’s Indoor Champions, Singh was named MVP of last year’s tournament. The Cavaliers are looking to continue their dominance by making it to tomorrow’s finals, already claiming victories over No. 3 Ohio State, No. 7 Georgia and No. 15 Alabama. Singh becomes the first Virginia player to win this award in the 19 years it has been presented. The ITA National Men’s Team Indoor Championship will conclude tomorrow with the championship match scheduled for 12:00 p.m. (ET).

Past ITA Sportsmanship Award Winners:

2009 - Alex Clayon, Stanford

2008 - Erling Tveit, Mississippi

2007 - Luke Shields, Boise State

2006 - Jonathan Stokke, Duke

2005 - Hamid Mirzadeh, Florida

2004 - Chris Lam, UCLA

2003 - Rajeev Ram, Illinois

2002 - David Martin, Stanford

2001 - Jimmy Haney, TCU

2000 - Ramsey Smith, Duke

1999 - Ryan Wolters, Stanford

1998 - Thomas Blake, Harvard

1997 - Eddie Jacques, Georgia

1996 - Jeff Salzenstein, Stanford

1995 - Paul Goldstein, Stanford

1994 - Michael Hopkinson, Kentucky

1993 - Chris Woodruff, Tennessee

1992 - Jason Yee, Stanford


Frasure-Footer-Ad-336x280-FINAL news search news categories news archives


Movable Type Development by PRO IT Service