Federer and Safina Named 2009 US Open Top Seeds

FLUSHING, N.Y. — The USTA announced today that five-time defending US Open champion and world No. 1 Roger Federer of Switzerland and world No. 1 Dinara Safina of Russia will be the top seeds at the 2009 US Open in men’s and women’s singles, respectively. The 2009 US Open will be played at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center in Flushing, N.Y., August 31 - September 13.

Federer, winner of the French Open and Wimbledon this summer, is the No. 1 seed at the US Open for the fifth time. He will be followed by No. 2 Andy Murray of Great Britain; No. 3 Rafael Nadal of Spain, the reigning Australian Open champion; No. 4 Novak Djokovic of Serbia; and No. 5 Andy Roddick of Austin, Texas.

Safina, a three-time Grand Slam singles finalist, is followed by No. 2 seed and defending champion Serena Williams of Palm Beach Gardens, Fla., winner of 11 Major singles titles; No. 3 seed Venus Williams of Palm Beach Gardens, Fla., a two-time US Open champion and winner of seven Major singles titles overall; No. 4 seed Elena Dementieva of Russia, the women’s singles gold medalist at the 2008 Beijing Olympics; and No. 5 seed Jelena Jankovic of Serbia, the 2008 US Open runner-up.

Federer, 28, has won four titles this year including his first French Open title to become the sixth man to complete the career Grand Slam. He then won his 15th career Major singles title at Wimbledon to break Pete Sampras’ record. On Sunday, he won his 61st career singles title at the Olympus US Open Series event in Cincinnati. Federer will attempt to win three Major singles titles in the same year for the fourth time in his career.

Safina, 23, has won three titles this year, including her back-to-back victories at Rome and Madrid. She also reached the final of the French Open for the second consecutive year, as well as the Australian Open.

For 2009, the US Open followed the ATP World Tour and Sony Ericsson WTA Tour rankings to determine the men’s and women’s singles seeds. This is the eighth consecutive year that the US Open has seeded 32 players in both singles events.

The singles draws for the 2009 US Open will be announced live on the US Open Draw Show on ESPNews, Thursday, August 27 at 12 PM ET. Chris McKendry will host the show along with U.S. Davis Cup Captain Patrick McEnroe and U.S. Fed Cup Captain Mary Joe Fernandez serving as lead analysts.


  1. Dinara Safina, Russia
  2. Serena Williams, United States
  3. Venus Williams, United States
  4. Elena Dementieva, Russia
  5. Jelena Jankovic, Serbia
  6. Svetlana Kuznetsova, Russia
  7. Vera Zvonareva, Russia
  8. Victoria Azarenka, Belarus
  9. Caroline Wozniacki, Denmark
  10. Flavia Pennetta, Italy
  11. Ana Ivanovic, Serbia
  12. Agnieszka Radwanska, Poland
  13. Nadia Petrova, Russia
  14. Marion Bartoli, France
  15. Samantha Stosur, Australia
  16. Virginie Razzano, France
  17. Amelie Mauresmo, France
  18. Na Li, China
  19. Patty Schnyder, Switzerland
  20. Anabel Medina Garrigues, Spain
  21. Jie Zheng, China
  22. Daniela Hantuchova, Slovak Republic
  23. Sabine Lisicki, Germany
  24. Sorana Cirstea, Romania
  25. Kaia Kanepi, Estonia
  26. Francesca Schiavone, Italy
  27. Alisa Kleybanova, Russia
  28. Sybille Bammer, Austria
  29. Maria Sharapova, Russia
  30. Alona Bondarenko, Ukraine
  31. Elena Vesnina, Russia
  32. Agnes Szavay, Hungary


  1. Roger Federer, Switzerland
  2. Andy Murray, Great Britain
  3. Rafael Nadal, Spain
  4. Novak Djokovic, Serbia
  5. Andy Roddick, United States
  6. Juan Martin Del Potro, Argentina
  7. Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, France
  8. Nikolay Davydenko, Russia
  9. Gilles Simon, France
  10. Fernando Verdasco, Spain
  11. Fernando Gonzalez, Chile
  12. Robin Soderling, Sweden
  13. Gael Monfils, France
  14. Tommy Robredo, Spain
  15. Radek Stepanek, Czech Republic
  16. Marin Cilic, Croatia
  17. Tomas Berdych, Czech Republic
  18. David Ferrer, Spain
  19. Stanislas Wawrinka, Switzerland
  20. Tommy Haas, Germany
  21. James Blake, United States
  22. Sam Querrey, United States
  23. Philipp Kohlschreiber, Germany
  24. Juan Carlos Ferrero, Spain
  25. Mardy Fish, United States
  26. Paul-Henri Mathieu, France
  27. Ivo Karlovic, Croatia
  28. Victor Hanescu, Romania
  29. Igor Andreev, Russia
  30. Viktor Troicki, Serbia
  31. Lleyton Hewitt, Australia
  32. Nicolas Almagro, Spain


Frasure-Footer-Ad-336x280-FINAL news search news categories news archives


Movable Type Development by PRO IT Service