TennisIndustryMag.com news

 

Tennis Channel to Carry Close to 150 Hours of Live and Same-Day Coverage of 2008 Olympus US Open Series in HD

LOS ANGELES — Tennis Channel, the only 24-hour, television-based multimedia destination dedicated to both the professional sport and passionate lifestyle of tennis, will air close to 150 hours of live and same-day match coverage during eight tournaments in this summer’s Olympus US Open Series. From July 18 through August 17, the network’s coverage includes seven prime-time Sunday doubles finals in addition to numerous singles semifinals, quarterfinals and early round competition. With match repeats the network will devote more than close to 250 hours of on-air time to Olympus US Open Series play this year, all in high definition.

Tennis Channel will televise weekday and weekend singles and doubles matches at five ATP tournaments: the Indianapolis Championships (Indianapolis), Rogers Masters (Toronto), Western & Southern Financial Group Masters (Cincinnati), Countrywide Classic (Los Angeles), and Legg Mason Tennis Classic (Washington, D.C.); as well as three Sony Ericsson WTA Tour events: The Bank of the West Classic (Stanford, Calif.), East West Bank Classic (Carson, Calif.) and Rogers Cup (Montreal). The network has been a partner with the USTA, the governing body of the tournament series, since the US Open Series’ inception in 2004, along with fellow broadcasters ESPN and CBS Sports. Combined, the three television networks will air more than 200 hours of live and same-day Olympus US Open Series coverage in 2008.

Tennis Channel’s 2008 Olympus US Open Series broadcast schedule (all times ET):

July 18-20 Indianapolis Tennis Championships (ATP)

Friday, July 18 – 12:30 p.m.-4:30 p.m.; 7:00 p.m.-9:00 p.m. (singles quarterfinals)
Saturday, July 19 – 1:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m.; 7:00 p.m.-9:00 p.m. (singles semifinals)
Sunday, July 20 – 8:00 p.m.-9:30 p.m. (doubles final)

July 18-20 Bank of the West Classic (WTA)

Friday, July 18 – 9:00 p.m.-1:00 a.m. (singles quarterfinals)
Sunday, July 20 – 9:30 p.m.-11:00 p.m. (doubles final)

July 21-27 Rogers Masters (ATP)

Monday, July 21 – 11:00 a.m.-11:30 p.m. (early round singles)
Tuesday, July 22 – 11:00 a.m.-9:30 p.m. (early round singles)
Wednesday, July 23 – 11:00 a.m.-9:30 p.m. (early round singles)
Thursday, July 24 – 11:00 a.m.-9:30 p.m. (early round singles)
Friday, July 25 – 9:00 p.m.-11:00 p.m. (singles quarterfinal)
Sunday, July. 27 – 8:00 p.m.-9:30 p.m. (doubles final)

July 25-27 East West Bank Classic (WTA)

Friday, July 25 – 3:00 p.m.-7:00 p.m. (singles quarterfinals)
Saturday, July 26 – 3:30 p.m.-5:30 p.m. (singles semifinal)
Sunday, July 27 – 9:30 p.m.-11:00 p.m. (doubles final)

July 28-Aug. 3 Western & Southern Financial Group Masters (ATP)

Monday, July 28 – 11:00 a.m.-11:00 p.m. (early round)
Tuesday, July 29 – 11:00 a.m.-9:00 p.m. (early round)
Wednesday, July 30 – 5:00 p.m.-7:00 p.m. (early round)
Thursday, July 31 – 5:00 p.m.-7:00 p.m. (early round)
Friday, Aug. 1 – 9:00 p.m.-11:00 p.m. (singles quarterfinals)
Saturday, Aug. 2 – 1:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m. (singles semifinals)
Sunday, Aug. 3 – 8:00 p.m.-9:30 p.m. (doubles final)

July 30-Aug. 2 Rogers Cup (WTA)

Wednesday, July 30 – 1:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m.; 10:00 p.m.-12:00 a.m. (early round)
Thursday, July 31 – 7:30 p.m.-11:30 p.m. (early round)
Friday, Aug. 1 – 2:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. (singles quarterfinals)
Saturday, Aug. 2 – 3:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m. (singles semifinal)

Aug. 8-10 Countrywide Classis (ATP)

Friday, Aug. 8 – 3:00 p.m.-7:00 p.m. (singles quarterfinals)
Saturday, Aug. 9 – 4:00 p.m.-7:30 p.m. (singles, doubles semifinals)
Sunday, Aug. 10 – 8:00 p.m.-9:30 a.m. (doubles final)

Aug 15-17 Legg Mason Tennis Classic (ATP)

Friday, Aug. 15 – 7:00 p.m.-10:30 p.m. (singles, doubles quarterfinals)
Saturday, Aug. 16 – 7:00 p.m.-10:30 p.m. (singles, doubles semifinals)
Sunday, Aug. 17 – 8:00 p.m.-9:30 p.m. (doubles final)

 

Babolat Play

TIMag.com news search

TIMag.com news categories


TIMag.com news archives


 
 

Movable Type Development by PRO IT Service