Tennis Industry magazine

 

Court Construction & Maintenance Guide: Quality Assurance

The Certified Tennis Court Builder program offered by the ASBA can help ensure your courts and facility are designed, built and maintained to exacting standards.

By Peter Francesconi

The Certified Tennis Court Builder (CTCB) Program was developed by the American Sports Builders Association (ASBA) to help raise professional standards and to improve the practice of tennis court construction and maintenance.

To become a CTCB, a court builder must pass a comprehensive exam on tennis court construction and maintenance. He or she must also fulfill prescribed standards of experience and have demonstrated a high level of expertise in tennis court construction.

To maintain their CTCB designation, builders must recertify every three years, so they are constantly in the know on the latest construction and maintenance techniques.

As of early July, there were 61 current CTCBs in North America. We’ve arranged them here by region, but keep in mind, many court builders travel and are not bound by geographical or state lines.

If you are a sports builder, consider becoming a CTCB and providing your customers, and potential customers, with that extra level of knowledge and experience. (In fact, in some instances, bids for jobs may require that a CTCB work on a project.)

Visit the ASBA’s website, sportsbuilders.org, for more information, including applications, resources and CTCB test dates and locations.

NORTHEAST

Tom Benz, Oval Tennis Inc., Somers, NY, tom@ovaltennis.com

Mark Brogan, Pro-Sport Construction Inc., Devon, PA, prosporttennis@yahoo.com

Thomas DeRosa, DeRosa Sports Construction, Mamaroneck, NY, tom@derosasports.com

Bruce Dobson, Chesapeake Court Builders, Baltimore, MD, bruce@sportcourtmidatlantic.com

Mike Edgerton, Copeland Coating Co. Inc., Nassau, NY, medgerton@copelandcoating.com

John Eren, Classic Turf Company LLC, Woodbury, CT, sales@classicturf.org

Michael Fortuna, Ace Tennis Builders, Woodbury, CT, michaelfortuna@hotmail.com

Albert Giamei Jr., Copeland Coating Co. Inc., Nassau, NY, agiamei@copelandcoating.com

Matt Hale, Halecon Inc., Bridgewater, NJ, Matt.halecon@verizon.net

Kevin Healion, Century Tennis Inc., Deer Park, NY, Kevin@centurytennis.com

Tony Mackay, Court Care Systems Inc., Wantagh, NY, tonymackay@aol.com

L. Bruce Mahler, Boston Tennis Court Construction Co. Inc., Hanover, MA, bruce@bostontenniscourt.com

David Marsden, Boston Tennis Court Construction Co. Inc., Hanover, MA, dave@bostontenniscourt.com

David Moore, Cape & Island Tennis & Track, Pocasset, MA, dmoore@tennisandtrack.com

Gordy Pierce, Cape & Island Tennis & Track, Pocasset, MA, gpierce@tennisandtrack.com

Bill Shaughnessy, The Racquet Shop Inc., Colts Neck, NJ, billy@theracquetshop.com

Tom Villeneuve, Vermont Recreational Surfacing & Fencing Inc., Barnet, VT, vtrectom@hotmail.com

Rob Werner, Sportsline Inc., Exton, PA, track10s@aol.com

SOUTHEAST

David Clapp, Baseline Sports Construction, Knoxville, TN, david@baselinellc.com

Adam Fryor, Court One Inc., Youngsville, NC, afryor@courtone.net

Raymond Godfriaux, Sunbelt Asphalt, Auburn, GA, bud@sunbeltasphalt.com

Matt Graft, Match Point Tennis, Woodstock, GA, matt@matchpointtennis.info

Linn Lower, Lower Bros. Co. Inc., Birmingham, AL, linn@lowerbros.com

Fred Manchester, Manchester Courts LLC, Lexington, SC, tennismanctcb@aol.com

Michael McGrath, Talbot Tennis, Marietta, GA, mike@talbottennis.com

Jeffry Nichols, American Tennis Courts Inc., Mobile, AL, jeff@americantenniscourts.net

Herb Osburn, Tennis Courts Inc., Aylett, VA, tciherb@erols.com

Ben Rennolds, Rennolds Tennis Court Construction Inc., Tappahannock, VA, ben@rennoldstennis.net

John Sonner, Fast-Dry Courts Inc., Pompano Beach, FL, john@fast-dry.com

George Todd Jr., Welch Tennis Courts Inc., Sun City, FL, george@welchtennis.com

Brian Wright, Court One, Granite Quarry, NC, bwright@courtone.net

Gerry Wright, Court One, Youngsville, NC, gwright@courtone.net

MIDWEST

David Baird, Industrial Surface Sealer Inc., Cleveland, OH, dbaird@industrialsurface.com

Fred Kolkmann, Fred Kolkmann Tennis & Sport Surfaces LLC, Grafton, WI, courtbuilder@ameritech.net

Carla Magers, Gerald Perry Tennis Courts, Ozark, MO, geraldperrytennis@att.net

Mike Mehaffey, McConnell & Associates, North Kansas City, MO, m.mehaffey@mcconnellassociates.org

J. R. Rockenfield, McConnell & Associates Corp., Kansas City, MO, jr@mcconnellassociates.org

Matt Savage, Vasco Sports Contractors, Massillon, OH, msavage@vascoasphalt.com

Pete Smith, The CourtSmiths, Toledo, OH, pete@courtsmiths.com

Darrel Snyder, Mid American Courtworks, Wichita, KS, midamericacts@cox.net

Matt Strom, Leslie Coatings, Inc., Indianapolis, IN, matt@lesliecoatings.com

SOUTH CENTRAL

Thomas Joseph, Hellas Construction, Austin, TX, tjosephs@hellasconstruction.com

Steve Wright, Trans Texas Tennis Ltd., Hot Springs, AR, wrightsk2@gmail.com

SOUTHWEST

James Burdett, Connor Sport Court–Sport Court West, Salt Lake City, UT, jburdett@sportcourt.com

Jonnie Deremo, General Acrylics Inc., Phoenix, AZ, jderemo@generalacrylics.com

Colin Donovan, Renner Sports Surfaces, Denver, CO, cdonovan@rennersports.com

Sean Larsen, Parkin Construction Co., Woodscross, UT, slarsen.cc@gmail.com

Kevin Leach, Coatings Inc., Arvada, CO, kleach@coatingsinc.net

K. Scott Parkin, Parkin Tennis Courts, West Bountiful, UT, pkscott@msn.com

Brian Renner, Renner Sports Surfaces, Salt Lake City, UT, brian@rennersports.com

Todd Rudolph, Sunland Sports, Phoenix, AZ, todd@sunland-sports.com

Troy Rudolph, Sunland Sports, Phoenix, AZ, troy@sunland-sports.com

George Stahlin, Evergreen Tennis Courts Inc., Loveland, CO, George@evergreentenniscourts.com

Scott Starman, Renner Sports Surfaces, Denver, CO, sstarman@rennersports.com

Jacin Sutch, Sutch Concrete, Benjamin, UT, sutchconcrete@msn.com

WEST

Tony Edwards, Vintage Contractors Inc., San Francisco, CA, tony@vintagecontractors.com

Barrett Park, All Sport America Inc., Danville, CA, barrett@sportcourttennis.com

Philip Park, All Sport America Inc., Danville, CA, phil@sportcourttennis.com

Richard Zaino, Zaino Tennis Courts Inc., Orange, CA, richard@zainotennis.com

CANADA

Michael Kingsbury, Fowler Construction, Bracebridge, Ontario Canada, mkingsbury@fowler.ca

Richard Phelan, Court Contractors Ltd., Mississauga, Ontario Canada, tennis@courtcontractors.com

See all articles by

About the Author

Peter Francesconi is editorial director of Tennis Industry magazine.

 

8144_Bblt_JET336x280Anmtd

TI magazine search

TI magazine categories


TI magazine archives


 
 

Movable Type Development by PRO IT Service