Tennis Industry magazine


Champions of Tennis 2005

We’d like your help in recognizing the people and organizations that are making a difference in the business of tennis.

Once again, we’d like to honor the champions of our sport — the many, often unheralded heroes who work tirelessly to develop tennis in the U.S. But once again, we need your help in identifying these men and women, businesses and organizations, and how their accomplishments have helped the game, whether in their local areas or nationally.

Please take a look at the categories at the right and e-mail your nominations to (please put “Champions” in the subject line). Include:

We’d also appreciate your name and contact information, for confirmation purposes only. All nominations will be confidential, and you may nominate for as many categories as you’d like. And, if there’s a category that we don’t list that you think we should include, please let us know.

We need your nominations by Aug. 5, 2005. e-mail is preferred, but you may fax them to 760-536-1171 or mail them to: Racquet Sports Industry, 300 Main St., Vista, CA 92084.

In our November/December issue, we’ll include a special section acknowledging the dedication of those who work to keep tennis vital in the U.S.

2005 Champions of Tennis Categories

Champions of Tennis honor roll

Persons of the Year

2004: Arlen Kantarian
2003: Jim Baugh & Kurt Kamperman
2002: Alan Schwartz

Mass Merchant/Chain of the Year

2004: City Sports
2003: Sport Chalet
2002: Dick’s Sporting Goods
2001: Galyan’s

Municipal Facility of the Year

2004: Lexington County Tennis Complex
2003: Midland Community Tennis Center
2002: Cooper Tennis Complex
2001: George E. Barnes Tennis Center

Pro/Specialty Retailer

2004: Players Choice Tennis
2003: Advantage Yours
2002: Chicago Tennis & Golf
2001: Dale Queen

Private Facility of the Year

2004: Indian Creek Racquet Club
2003: New Albany Country Club
2002: Woodfield Country Club

Builder of the Year

2004: Zaino Tennis Courts
2003: General Acrylics
2002: Cape & Island Tennis and Track
2001: Welch Tennis Courts

Sales Rep of the Year

2004: Dustin Perry
2003: Bob Strimel
2002: Bob Pfaender
2001: Sheri Norris & David Blakeley

Grassroots Champion

2004: Gwen & Dan Ramras
2003: Scott Biron
2002: Mark Platt
2001: Donna Owens

Junior Development Champion

2004: Emma Hubbs
2003: Phyllis Greene
2002: LaMont Bryant
2001: Ned Eames

Wheelchair Tennis Champion

2004: Julie Jilly
2003: Dan James
2002: Tina Dale
2001: Nancy Olson

USTA Section of Year

2004: Pacific Northwest
2003: Southern
2002: Northern
2001: New England

CTA of the Year

2004: Pikes Peak CTA
2003: Milwaukee Tennis & Education Foundation
2002: Macon Tennis Association
2001: Homewood-Flossmoor

Stringer of the Year

2004: Randy Stephenson

PTR Division of the Year

2002: Eastern
2001: New England

USPTA Division of the Year

2002: Midwest
2001: Texas



TI magazine search

TI magazine categories

TI magazine archives


Movable Type Development by PRO IT Service